The Association of Zanzibar Women Members of the House of Representatives (UWAWAZA) is a caucus of Women Members in the House of Representatives of Zanzibar. UWAWAZA membership therefore, is the right to any Woman Member in the House of Representatives, regardless her political affiliation party, religious belief or any other difference. This Association is registered in Zanzibar on 16thJuly 2002, under the Society Act No. 6 of 1995.

Historically, UWAWAZA was established after Women Members realizing that since the establishment of the House of Representatives in 1980, the number of women Members in the House of Representatives had always been low compared to the number of men. As a result, issues pertaining to women and girls have been inadequately addressed in the House and in Zanzibar community in general and hence, they had often been sidelined in the legislative and political processes.

Therefore, the establishment of this Association arose out of the need to increase the number of women in the House of Representatives empower and enhance them to fully engage on the House businesses and amplifying attention to issues affecting women in Zanzibar.


Women and men are equitably represented in the House of Representatives and in other decision making organs, laws and policies are adequately addressing gender equality and women and girls are empowered to fully participate in socio-economic development of Zanzibar.


Promote the advancement of parliamentary democracy by enhancing knowledge and understanding of democratic governance and facilitate the networking of women Parliamentarians. Additionally, stimulates male members of the House’s understanding and engagement to addressing issues pertaining to gender and equality. UWAWAZA


The objectives of the Association are:

  • To facilitate and encourage unity and cooperation between women Members in the House and to build common relation with women Members of the Parliament of the United Republic of Tanzania and other legislative bodies outside Tanzania having the same vision and mission.
  • To empower women Members in supervising and encouraging women development within and outside the House;
  • To initiate and scrutinize the Bills and supervise the implementation of international agreements relating to the welfare of women within the House in order to remove any obstacles against the women and to initiate amendment of laws which contain discriminatory provisions against the women.
  •  To supervise the rights of women to ensure that women succeed politically, economically, socially and to make sure that social education activities are properly considered up to a higher level of education.


Day to day activities of UWAWAZA are being managed by the following leaders under the following:

  •  Chairperson: is elected from a political party that has majority women members in the House of Representatives. Currently, all women members of the House are from Chama cha Mapinduzi. Hon. Dr. Saada Mkuya Salum (Presidential appointment) is the presiding Chairperson.
  • Vice Chairperson: is elected from a political party with minority women members in the House of Representatives. Since all women members of the House are originating from the ruling party, Chama cha Mapinduzi (CCM) therefore, the Vice Chairperson Hon. Mwantatu Mbarak Khamis (CCM special seats) holds the position is also from CCM.
  • Secretary: is elected among the Members of UWAWAZA, other than Chairperson and Vice Chairperson. Currently Hon. Anna Athanas Paul is a Secretary.
  •  Treasurer: is elected among the Members of UWAWAZA, other than Chairperson, Vice Chairperson and Secretary. Currently Hon. Panya Ali Abdalla holds this post.
  • Secretariat: is composed by the nominated staff of the House of Representatives whereas currently Ms. Nasra Awadh Salmin, Mr. Abass Vuai Mohamed and Mr. Juma Moh’d Juma hold this post.


UWAWAZA is governed by an Executive Committee that is headed by a Chairperson. This Committee constituted by the following Members:-

  • Chairperson – Hon. Dr. Saada Mkuya Salum;
  • Vice Chairperson – Hon. Mwantatu Mbarak Khamis;
  • Treasurer – Hon. Panya Ali Abdalla;
  • Secretary – Hon. Anna Athanas Paul.
  • Apart from those who hold various positions in the UWAWAZA management, there also five other members who are elected to the Executive Committee. Currently, these members are Hon. Mwanaasha Khamis Juma, Hon. Rukia Omar Ramadhan, Hon. Salha Mohamed Mwinjuma, Hon. Mwanajuma Kassim Makame and Hon. Bahati Khamis Kombo.


The Executive Committee has the following functions:-

  • To prepare policy and planning for the Association;
  • To look for, supervise and coordinate projects;
  • To administer all activities relating to administration of the Association;
  • To make decision when emergency arises; and
  • To convene extra ordinary meetings.


UWAWAZA has Board of Trustee which has the following Members:

  • Speaker who is a Chairperson;
  • Deputy Speaker who is a Vice Chairperson;
  • Clerk of the House;
  • One male Member of the House; and
  • Three women Members from outside the House.

The Members of the Board of Trustee mentioned under paragraph (d) and (e), are appointed by the Executive Committee and approved by the Annual General Meeting of the Association.


Save for Members of the Board of Trustee appointed by virtue of their offices, other Members have the following qualifications:

  •  A good knowledge on social and gender equality;
  • An experience on administration and supervise various activities relating to social development;
  • At least form four level of education.


The Board of Trustees of UWAWAZA performs the following functions:

  • To supervise the performance of the Association;
  • To provide advice to the leaders of the Association on how to improve the purposes and objectives of the Association;
  • To resolve the conflict among the members of the Association; and
  • To do any other function as may be deemed fit for the interest and benefit of the Association.